Getting to Know You: I’m a Little Quirky

Happy New Year! I can’t believe it’s 1/1/11 already.

I wanted to start out the new year with another getting to know you post…something more personal and that gives you insight to the person behind the camera. Yep, I know, sometimes quirky, sometimes quiet, sometimes talkative, a lot of times energetic – that’s me. What else is there to know?

Since we end 2010 with a countdown, I figure I’ll start 2011 with a count-up!

1. I’m hoping that 2011 is the best year yet…I know it sounds clichéd. Although I can get a little frustrated like everyone, I’m an optimist at heart.

2. I’m a numbers person. One of my clients and I were recently talking about this – it’s a little bit of OCD I think, but hey, it’s who I am! I’m not a numbers person in terms of facts and figures and remembering statistics. Most of you know I don’t really do math beyond the basics in my head.

3. So why is that important today, and what the heck does that mean? Well, today is 1/1/11 and 1+1+1+1 = 4 (I’m pretty sure – don’t make me get out the calculator!). 4 happens to be one of my favorite numbers.

4. Now that you think I’m totally weird, if you didn’t already, I’ll also share that although I am really strong in my faith I am also a bit superstitious. I’ll be eating the black-eyed peas and greens today.

5. I love the new year. I like being able to close out something and start a new beginning. I like the fresh perspective, the new calendar, and the crisp feel that a new year has. I like feeling like you can put the past behind you – no matter how good or bad – and move toward a future that’s full of promise.

6. 6 is one of my least favorite numbers.

7. 7 is one of my favorites. 🙂

8. Each year, I’m usually kind of ready to take the tree down after Christmas. I love having it up, but I like the process of taking it down and packing it away as you prepare for the new year. This year, I’m dreading taking it down! My son loves it and it’s hard to put it away when I know he’ll be looking for it each morning. Beware neighbors – we might be one of those houses that has the Christmas lights still up in July. 🙂

9. We only put four ornaments on the tree this year. Yep, four. My son loves that tree, and he loves climbing under it and looking up at the lights. BUT, he also loves shaking it and pulling on ornaments. So…we have our four favorite ornaments for this year waaaaaaay up top where he can look but not touch. Maybe next year we can expand to 7.

10. You’ve probably already guessed this, but I’m a lists person. I like having lists ordered and numbered and paths laid out for a plan. It drives my husband insane at times (but secretly I think he appreciates it because it lets him off the hook).

11. Our son turned two this year! Just a few days ago, he had his second birthday (the doctors called him a “tax deduction baby” because he was born just barely inside 2008). I can’t express how proud I am of our little guy. Those of you that know him know that he’s a ball of wired energy, excitement, stubbornness, and joy – and that’s just how I like him! He wears us out, shows us things that “old people” forget (like how much fun it is to rip the paper off Christmas presents, or how peaceful it is to lay under the tree and gaze at the lights), and reminds us that we all get to choose every single day how and where we spend our time and our love. Happy 2nd Birthday to our lil man!

Best wishes to all of you for a very happy new year! I hope you spend today peacefully, joyfully, and with those that you love.

2 thoughts on “Getting to Know You: I’m a Little Quirky

  1. Love your post! Happy New Year to you and your family as well, no black eyed peas here tho, we have pork, mashed pots and saurcraut! Thank you again for all you do! Jim and Kim

Leave a comment